Do you really know the meaning of Yoga?

meaning of yoga

Yoga and its meaning

The word Yoga refers to different things in today’s time. Some may understand it as Indian form of exercise which has to do with specific body postures. Others may understand it as breathing practices and relaxation methods. Some may even consider it as eight reducing regimens involving profuse sweating. A Yoga therapist may understand it as alternative therapy system especially for eliminating back pain or helping with recovery from an illness. Then, there is a general group of believers who consider Yoga as a typical religion. These different views about Yoga are logical to some extent, yet there is more to this ancient science.

What really is Yoga?

via – pexels

“Yoga” is a Sanskrit word which is derived from the source word “Yuj” which means to yoke couple or attach, bind control and make use of (natural resources), especially to produce energy or join together. Hence, yoga is commonly understood to mean union. Union of jeevatma (individual self) and parmatma (universal self).

What is Yoga?

via – pexels

According to Maharishi Patanjali, Yoga is a discipline or continuous effort to attain this union. He further says Yoga is to attain spiritual perfection through the Control of body, the Senses and Mind. Patanjali talks about Ashtang Yoga (eight limbs) Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayam, Pratyahara, Dharna, Dhyan, Samadhi. Out of these eight, two have sub divisions

Yama :

Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Bramhacharya, Aparigraha

Niyama :

Saouh, Santosha, Tapas, Swadhya, Ishwar-Pranidhana.

Lets see the above in details

Yama :

To take care of Social equations

Niyama :

To govern Personal equations

Asanas :

To perform asanas which are based on Concentration.

Pranayam :

as the name suggests it is break in pace between inhalation and exhalation.

Prtayahara :

Refers to withdrawal of sense organs from their respective objects. It means cessation of material objects.

Dharana :

Means concentration on one object.

Dhayana :

When the object in dharna is removed and the

Sadhak can still view that object, that is Dhayan.

Samadhi :

Is the stage where nothing effects that Sadhak.